fbpx
Search Keyword

Mathematics

Mathematical Research

In recent decades, the complexity of the challenges facing the industry has grown increasingly, so that the concrete application of mathematical methods has become imperative in many areas. TWT has been investing in the development of mathematics since its foundation in 1986. The Mathematical Research Group, consisting of more than 30 mathematicians and people interested in mathematics, the Mathematics Circle, takes this fact into account in several ways. Through the broadly spread expertise of the staff, we offer expertise from all major areas of mathematics, such as analysis, algebra, number theory, numerics, stochastics, data analytics, and operations research. Among other things, we use this knowledge to investigate and solve fundamental mathematical problems at the highest academic level. We then use the knowledge gained in this way in the sense of technical-scientific transfer to give our customers the necessary edge in the increasingly complex engineering, physical and technical problems that will ensure their competitiveness in the industry of the future. In order to live up to this claim, we maintain a constantly growing network of leading institutes and professors around the world, who actively advise and support us in our projects. This includes former TWT colleagues, who have returned to the university.

Basic mathematical research deals with abstract problems, which often -at first sight- have no direct application in industrial projects. The importance of basic mathematical research lies mainly in the development of new methods and the extension of existing knowledge. The full potential of these research results is often only realized later and very often in surprising and unforeseen ways. In this sense, basic mathematical research is an important contribution to future innovations.

Prime numbers and fractals

The phenomenon of prime numbers has always been a fascinating subject to study for Mathematicians all over the world. A particular aspect is their distribution within the positive real numbers. For this purpose, the function ?(x) is defined, which gives to each real number x the number ?(x) of primes p for which p ? x holds. A first estimate was shown independently in 1896 by Jacques Salomon Hadamard and Charles-Jean de La Valée Poussin: ?(x) behaves like x/ln(x) for x towards infinity. According to his own recollection, Carl Friedrich Gauss had already made the same conjecture in 1792 and 93, respectively. An improvement of this estimate succeeds by Euler's logarithmic integral Li(x)=?dt/ln(t), which is integrated from 2 to x. This conjecture was first mentioned by Carl Friedrich Gauss in a letter to Encke in 1849 and formulated by Legendre in 1798.

A sketch of the proof was described by Terrence Tao in 2007 in his lecture "Structure and randomness in the prime numbers", which could be called the music of primes: One applies the von Mangoldt function vanishing on non-prime(powers) and makes the resulting "tones" audible by applying the Fourier transform. In the spirit of this sketch, the aim here is to draw a picture of the prime numbers, the result of which is shown on the right. This is done by taking another approach to approximating the prime counting function ?(x), based on an additive function. Together with Fourier polygons applied in the context of regularizing polygon transformations, fractal prime polygons and fractal prime curves can be derived.

Dimitris Vartziotis, Joachim Wipper: The fractal nature of an approximate prime counting function, https://arxiv.org/abs/1611.01949

Polygonal prime fractal Fp(104).
Illustration of the symmetry of a graph of the sum of two particular exponential functions.

Number Theory

A current project from basic research at TWT deals with the symmetry of finite sums of complex exponential functions. The exponential function is of fundamental importance in mathematics and occurs, for example, as an elementary building block in Fourier series. If one interprets the graph of a complex exponential function as a parameterized curve, the result is the unit circle. However, if one adds several different complex exponential functions, fascinating graphs arise whose symmetry depends on the generating parameters. In the current work, the symmetry groups of these graphs could be determined as a function of the generating parameters.

PAUSINGER, Florian; VARTZIOTIS, Dimitris. On the symmetry of finite sums of exponentials. Elemente der Mathematik, 2021, 76. Jg., Nr. 2, S. 62-73, Elemente der Mathematik, 2021, 76. Jg., Nr. 2, S. 62-73,

 

Game Theory

Typically, game theory is applied in economics. The question of the timing and price of a product at market launch or the identification of power relationships are classic problems. In a specific assignment, for example, we have already advised our client on how to ideally allocate the award of projects to external partners, taking into account several internal stakeholders with their own priorities regarding the award. Here, we were particularly interested in the decision optimum, but also in the likely behavior patterns of the stakeholders, in order to be able to derive optimal strategies.

For some years now, game theory methods have been increasingly used in other areas, such as route planning. We are also interested in further developing game theory at the academic level and thus advancing new areas, as this published research sketch shows:

VARTZIOTIS, Dimitris; BOHNET, Doris; HIMPEL, Benjamin. Smoothing Game. arXiv preprint arXiv:2010.04956,, 2020, ( Link: https://arxiv.org/abs/2010.04956 ).

Resource planning

To improve meshes for finite element simulations, they need to be smoothed by moving the nodes. We want to introduce a new smoothing approach by treating each geometric element as a player in a game: a quest for the best element quality. In other words, each player has the goal of becoming as regular as possible.

Optimization of power quality using game theory. (Link: https://arxiv.org/abs/2010.04956)
Demonstrator for the optimization of highly complex systems with Cubic AI.

Optimization and Graph Theory

In practice, relevant key figures for a process or model often need to be improved. We use state-of-the-art algorithms from derivative-free, global, AI-assisted or even nonlinear optimization. Regardless of whether the problem is discrete or continuous, we investigate it for solvability and propose robust algorithms. An example can be found in our product Veris® (Link: https://twt-innovation.de/en/produkte) which, among other things, performs optimization in route planning. In this environment, we conduct research in the area of quantum algorithms, which we presented at the Digital Product Forum 2022 at Mercedes-Benz, among others:

KRAUS, Hamzeh, RIEGG, Andreas (Mercedes-Benz). Co-Autoren: Leder, M. (Mercedes-Benz AG), Vaudrevange, P., Stasinou, M., Banerjee, R., Kröker, R., Dierolf, B., Rößler, T., Fäßler, V., Keckeisen, M.. Quantum computing for a breadth-first search algorithm with application in vehicle route planning, DPF 2022, Stuttgart.


With Cubic AI https://cubicai.twt-gmbh.de/home we also take the optimization of highly complex systems to a whole new level. Almost like a genie in a bottle, you can wish for the behavior of your system and the modern AI will determine the best approximation to your specification in real time, taking into account the physical limitations. Cubic AI was also presented at the Digital Product Forum 2022.

WOLF, Thomas (TWT GmbH), KRIWET, Alexander (Mercedes-Benz AG). Co-Autoren: Kohler, J., Springmann, P., Gutsche, R. (Mercedes-Benz AG); Riegler, T., Vaudrevange P., Rößler T., Fäßler V., Keckeisen M.. Digital Powertrain - Artificial Intelligence for Virtual NVH Verification of Modern Powertrains, DPF 2022, Stuttgart.

Numerical Methods

Do you work with complex physical processes? We simulate them using the latest numerical algorithms from the world of multibody simulation, fluid dynamics and others, using artificial intelligence for simulation acceleration. For one of our clients, for example, we investigated why their solver - used for a high-dimensional system of equations which originated from a brake simulation - failed to find a solution in certain scenarios. The complex model, which included discontinuous equations, was adapted using an appropriate solution strategy so that the system of equations could be solved for physically relevant parameters.

Another example of the pioneering application of numerical methods, especially in the field of finite elements, can be found in our product GETMe, the Geometric Element Transformation Method.

GETMe stands out as most consistent in comparison with two other msh smooting methods. from D. S. H. Lo, Finite Element Mesh Generation, p. 350.

The GETMe - Geometric element transformation

High quality meshes play a key role in many applications based on digital modeling and simulation. The finite element method is a prime example of such an approach, and it is well known that high-quality meshes can significantly improve the computational efficiency and solution accuracy of this method. As a result, much work has been invested in methods to improve mesh quality. These range from simple geometric approaches such as Laplace smoothing, which results in high computational efficiency but potentially low mesh quality, to global optimization-based methods that result in excellent mesh quality at the cost of increased computational and implementation complexity.

The geometric element transform (GETMe) method bridges the gap between these two approaches

It is based on geometric mesh element transformations, where polygonal and polyhedral elements are iteratively transformed into their regular counterparts or into elements with a given shape. GETMe combines computational efficiency similar to Laplace smoothing with effectiveness approaching global optimization methods.



Smoothing of the Europe mesh with zoom on Norway. The network elements are colored with respect to their mean quality number.

GETme as a pioneering method is now indispensable in the field of mesh smoothing and is attracting increasing attention in the relevant literature:

„A breakthrough was made when Vartziotis et al. (2008) proposed the GETMe method, which is purely a geometric process to move the nodes of a triangle so as to improve its quality. (...)

GETMe is the most interesting node-smoothing scheme as it is purely geometric in nature in transforming elements into regular forms without a direct link to shape quality measure. It is robust in removing inverted and poorly shaped elements rapidly and is consistent in diverse applications to produce quality meshes."
Daniel S.H. Lo (Finite Element Mesh Generation)

An open source implementation of GETMe is available on Github: https://github.com/twt-gmbh/getme

A detailed description of the mathematical theory as well as numerical studies of GETMe can be found in the book

VARTZIOTIS, Dimitris; WIPPER, Joachim. The GETMe mesh smoothing framework: A geometric way to quality finite element meshes.. CRC Press, 2018,

and the associated publications, such as

  • VARTZIOTIS, Dimitris, et al. Mesh smoothing using the geometric element transformation method. Computer Methods in Applied Mechanics and Engineering, 2008, 197. Jg., Nr. 45-48, S. 3760-3767,

  • VARTZIOTIS, Dimitris; WIPPER, Joachim; SCHWALD, Bernd. The geometric element transformation method for tetrahedral mesh smoothing. Computer Methods in Applied Mechanics and Engineering, 2009, 199. Jg., Nr. 1-4, S. 169-182,

  • VARTZIOTIS, Dimitris; WIPPER, Joachim. The geometric element transformation method for mixed mesh smoothing. Engineering with Computers, 2009, 25. Jg., Nr. 3, S. 287-301,

  • VARTZIOTIS, Dimitris; HIMPEL, Benjamin. Efficient and global optimization-based smoothing methods for mixed-volume meshes. In: Proceedings of the 22nd International Meshing Roundtable. Springer, Cham, 2014. S. 293-311,

  • VARTZIOTIS, Dimitris; BOHNET, Doris; HIMPEL, Benjamin. GETOpt mesh smoothing: Putting GETMe in the framework of global optimization-based schemes. Finite Elements in Analysis and Design, 2018, 147. Jg., S. 10-20.

Data Science

The hot topic of Data Science is also represented by us. With our TWT product ZAMRIS, we offer a quality assurance framework which, in addition to an intuitive user interface and professional quality rule management, provides machine learning algorithms for quality assurance. Thereby, an intelligent time series analysis of arbitrary data sets is performed by means of Machine Learning and Pattern Recognition. ZAMRIS can be used both as a stand-alone application and integrated into existing simulation processes, thus enabling efficient and quality-assured development even with an increasing number of variants to be examined.

The use of Data Science is also relevant in our research projects. For example, in OPsTIMAL  www.opstimal.de  air traffic is optimized holistically from the perspective of the aviation company. Additionally, we use modern tools like image recognition with Convolutional Neural Networks, self-learning neural networks, or state estimation with Kalman filters in other projects.

The goal of the KARLI project is to develop adaptive, responsive and level-compliant interaction in the vehicle of the future. To this end, customer-relevant AI functions are being developed in KARLI that detect driver states and design interactions for different stages on the way to an automated vehicle (automation level).

These AI functions are developed in KARLI from empirical and synthetically generated data. The data will be collected and used in KARLI in such a way that the project results are scalable to Big Data from production vehicles that will be available in the future.

Use of artificial intelligence for human-machine interaction in the KARLI project (https://karli-projekt.de/)
Geometric transformation of polygons related to higher energy superposition states in a circular system of quantum wells. (Link: https://arxiv.org/pdf/1712.07963.pdf )

Breaking Boundaries

"Mathematics compares the most diverse phenomena and discovers the secret analogies that connect them." - Joseph Fourier, French mathematician and physicist

Loosely based on this quote, we too are constantly trying to find new connections between phenomena or models that apparently have no connection. For example, would you have thought that there is a direct analogy between the transformation of triangular meshes in a CAD model and the placement of so-called quantum wells in the quantum computing environment? We are exploring these and other analogies in order to apply findings from one area to another and gain more understanding of the structure inherent in the problem. If you are interested in this topic, please feel free to read the following publication:

VARTZIOTIS, Dimitris; HIMPEL, Benjamin; PFEIL, Markus. Creation of higher-energy superposition quantum states motivated by geometric transformations. arXiv preprint arXiv:1712.07963, 2017, https://arxiv.org/abs/1712.07963.

We propose a way to generate higher energy superposition states in a circular system of quantum wells. This is inspired by a connection to convergence results for geometric transformations of polygons with circulant Hermitian matrices.

Contact

Have we aroused your interest? For research collaborations or industrial projects in the field of mathematics, please contact us at mathematics@twt-gmbh.de.
Are you interested in mathematics and thinking about a PhD or a PostDoc? Then take a look at https://twt-gmbh.de/karriere/stellenangebote-direkteinstieg/502-researcher-post-doc-mathematik.html

en_USEN

fbpx
Suchbegriff

Mathematical Research

In den letzten Jahrzehnten ist die Komplexität der Herausforderungen für die Industrie zunehmend gestiegen, sodass die konkrete Anwendung mathematischer Methoden in vielen Bereichen zwingend erforderlich geworden ist. Die TWT investiert bereits seit ihrer Gründung 1986 in die Entwicklung der Mathematik. Die Fachgruppierung Mathematical Research, bestehend aus über 30 Mathematiker:innen und Mathematikinteressierten, dem Mathematik Circle, trägt dieser Tatsache in mehrfacher Hinsicht Rechnung. Durch die breit gestreute Expertise der Mitarbeitenden bieten wir Fachwissen aus allen großen Bereichen der Mathematik, wie z.B. Analysis, Algebra, Zahlentheorie, Numerik, Stochastik, Data Analytics und Operations Research. Dieses Wissen nutzen wir unter anderem zur Untersuchung und Lösung grundlegender mathematischer Fragestellungen auf höchstem akademischem Niveau. Die so gewonnenen Erkenntnisse nutzen wir dann im Sinne des technisch-wissenschaftlichen Transfers, um unsere Kunden in den immer komplexer werdenden ingenieurwissenschaftlichen, physikalischen und technischen Problemstellungen den notwendigen Vorsprung zu schaffen, der die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit in der Industrie der Zukunft sichert. Damit wir diesem Anspruch gerecht werden können, pflegen wir ein stetig wachsendes Netzwerk zu führenden Instituten und Professor:innen auf der ganzen Welt, welche uns aktiv bei unseren Projekten beraten und unterstützen. Hierzu gehören unter anderem ehemalige TWT-Kolleg:innen, die dem Ruf zurück an die Hochschule gefolgt sind.

Mathematische Grundlagenforschung beschäftigt sich mit abstrakten Fragestellungen, die oftmals auf den ersten Blick keine direkte Anwendung in Industrieprojekten haben. Die Bedeutung der mathematischen Grundlagenforschung liegt vorallem in der Entwicklung neuer Methoden und der Erweiterung des vorhandenen Wissens. Das volle Potential dieser Forschungsergebnisse wird vielfach erst später und sehr oft auf überraschende und unvorhergesehene Weise ausgeschöpft. In diesem Sinn ist die mathematische Grundlagenforschung ein wichtiger Beitrag für zukünftige Innovationen.

Primzahlen und Fraktale

Mathematiker sind schon seit jeher fasziniert von dem Phänomen der Primzahlen. Ein spezieller Aspekt dieser besonderen Zahlen ist dabei ihre Verteilung innerhalb der positiven reellen Zahlen. Dazu wird die Funktion π(x), definiert, die jeder reellen Zahl x die Anzahl π(x) der Primzahlen p angibt, für die gilt p ≤ x. Eine erste Abschätzung konnten 1896 unabhängig voneinander 1896 Jacques Salomon Hadamard und Charles-Jean de La Valée Poussin zeigen: π(x) verhält sich für x gegen unendlich wie x/ln(x). Nach eigener Erinnerung hatte Carl Friedrich Gauss dieselbe Vermutung schon 1792 bzw. 93 aufgestellt. Eine Verbesserung dieser Abschätzung gelingt durch das Eulersche logarithmische Integral Li(x)=∫dt/ln(t), welches von 2 bis x integriert wird. Diese Vermutung wurde als erstes von Carl Friedrich Gauß 1849 in einem Brief an Encke erwähnt und von Legendre 1798 formuliert.

Eine Beweisskizze dieser Vermutung beschrieb Terrence Tao im Jahr 2007 in seiner Vorlesung „Structure and randomness in the prime numbers“, die man als Musik der Primzahlen bezeichnen könnte: Man wendet die von Mangoldt Funktion an, die auf Nicht-Primzahl(potenzen) verschwindet und macht die so entstehende „Töne“ hörbar durch Anwenden der Fourier-Transformation. Ganz im Geiste dieser Skizze wird hier die Zeichnung eines Bildes der Primzahlen angestrebt, dessen Ergebnis rechts dargestellt ist. Dies geschieht, indem ein weiterer Zugang zur Approximation der Primzahl zählenden Funktion π(x) verfolgt wird, der auf einer additiven Funktion beruht. Zusammen mit Fourier-Polygonen, die im Kontext von regularisierenden Polygontransformationen zur Anwendung kommen, können fraktale Primzahlpolygone and fraktale Primzahlkurven abgeleitet werden. Eine ausführliche Darstellung der Zusammenhänge und alle präzisen Zitate finden sich in:

Dimitris Vartziotis, Joachim Wipper: The fractal nature of an approximate prime counting function, https://arxiv.org/abs/1611.01949

Polygonal prime fractal Fp(104).
Illustration der Symmetrie eines Graphen der Summe zweier bestimmter Exponentialfunktionen.

Zahlentheorie

Ein aktuelles Projekt aus der Grundlagenforschung bei TWT beschäftigt sich mit der Symmetrie von endlichen Summen von komplexen Exponentialfunktionen. Die Exponentialfunktion ist von fundamentaler Bedeutung in der Mathematik und tritt zum Beispiel als elementarer Baustein in Fourierreihen auf. Interpretiert man nun den Graphen einer komplexen Exponentialfunktion als parametrisierte Kurve, so ergibt sich der Einheitskreis. Addiert man aber mehrere verschiedene, komplexe Exponentialfunktionen, so entstehen faszinierende Graphen deren Symmetrie von den erzeugenden Parametern abhängt. In der aktuellen Arbeit konnten die Symmetriegruppen dieser Graphen in Abhängigkeit der erzeugenden Parameter bestimmt werden.

PAUSINGER, Florian; VARTZIOTIS, Dimitris. On the symmetry of finite sums of exponentials. Elemente der Mathematik, 2021, 76. Jg., Nr. 2, S. 62-73,

 

Spieltheorie

Typischerweise findet die Spieltheorie in der Wirtschaft Anwendung. Die Frage des Zeitpunkts und des Preises eines Produktes bei Markteinführung oder die Identifikation von Machtverhältnissen sind klassische Probleme. In einem konkreten Auftrag haben wir beispielsweise bereits unseren Kunden darin beraten, wie die Vergabe von Projekten an externe Partner ideal verteilt wird, unter Berücksichtigung von mehreren internen Stakeholdern mit eigenen Prioritäten bezüglich der Vergabe. Hierbei haben wir uns insbesondere für das Entscheidungsoptimum interessiert, aber auch für die wahrscheinlichen Verhaltensmuster der Stakeholder, um so optimale Strategien herleiten zu können.

Seit einigen Jahren werden die spieltheoretischen Methoden auch vermehrt in anderen Bereichen eingesetzt, wie beispielsweise der Routenplanung. Auch wir sind interessiert daran, die Spieltheorie auf akademischen Niveau weiterzuentwickeln und damit in neue Gebiete vorzudringen, wie diese veröffentlichte Forschungsskizze zeigt:

VARTZIOTIS, Dimitris; BOHNET, Doris; HIMPEL, Benjamin. Smoothing Game. arXiv preprint arXiv:2010.04956, 2020, https://arxiv.org/abs/2010.04956.

Ressourcenplanung

Um Netze für Finite-Elemente-Simulationen zu verbessern, müssen sie geglättet werden, indem die Knoten verschoben werden. Wir wollen einen neuen Glättungsansatz einführen, indem wir jedes geometrische Element als Spieler in einem Spiel behandeln: ein Streben nach der besten Elementqualität. Mit anderen Worten, jeder Spieler hat das Ziel, so regelmäßig wie möglich zu werden.

Optimierung der Netzqualität mittels Spieltheorie. ( Link: https://arxiv.org/abs/2010.04956 )
Demonstrator für die Optimierung hochkomplexer Systeme mit Cubic AI.

Optimierung und Graphentheorie

In der Praxis müssen oft relevante Kennzahlen zu einem Prozess oder Modell verbessert werden. Wir verwenden modernste Algorithmen aus der ableitungsfreien, globalen, KI-unterstützen oder auch nichtlinearen Optimierung. Unabhängig davon, ob das Problem diskret oder kontinuierlich ist, wir untersuchen es auf Lösbarkeit und schlagen Ihnen robuste Algorithmen vor. Ein Beispiel findet sich in unserem Produkt Veris® (Link: https://twt-innovation.de/en/produkte ) welches unter anderem Optimierung in der Routenplanung durchführt. In diesem Umfeld führen wir Forschung im Bereich der Quantenalgorithmen durch, welche wir unter anderem auf dem Digital Product Forum 2022 bei Mercedes-Benz vorgestellt haben:

KRAUS, Hamzeh, RIEGG, Andreas (Mercedes-Benz). Co-Autoren: Leder, M. (Mercedes-Benz AG), Vaudrevange, P., Stasinou, M., Banerjee, R., Kröker, R., Dierolf, B., Rößler, T., Fäßler, V., Keckeisen, M.. Quantum computing for a breadth-first search algorithm with application in vehicle route planning, DPF 2022, Stuttgart.


Mit Cubic AI (https://cubicai.twt-gmbh.de/home) bringen wir zusätzlich die Optimierung von hochkomplexen Systemen auf ein ganz neues Level. Fast wie bei einem Flaschengeist können Sie sich das Verhalten ihres Systems wünschen und die moderne KI ermittelt in Echtzeit die Bestapproximation zu ihrer Vorgabe unter Berücksichtigung der physikalischen Limitierungen. Cubic AI wurde ebenfalls auf dem Digital Product Forum 2022 vorgestellt.

WOLF, Thomas (TWT GmbH), KRIWET, Alexander (Mercedes-Benz AG). Co-Autoren: Kohler, J., Springmann, P., Gutsche, R. (Mercedes-Benz AG); Riegler, T., Vaudrevange P., Rößler T., Fäßler V., Keckeisen M.. Digital Powertrain – Artificial Intelligence for Virtual NVH Verification of Modern Powertrains, DPF 2022, Stuttgart.

Numerische Methoden

Sie arbeiten mit komplexen physikalischen Prozessen? Wir simulieren sie unter Verwendung von neuesten numerischen Algorithmen aus der Welt der Mehrkörpersimulation, Strömungsdynamik und anderen, unter Verwendung von künstlicher Intelligenz zur Simulationsbeschleunigung. Für einen unserer Kunden haben wir beispielsweise untersucht, warum ihr verwendeter Löser für ein hochdimensionales Gleichungssystem, entstanden aus einer Bremssimulation, in bestimmten Szenarien keine Lösung findet. Das komplexe Modell, welches unter anderem unstetige Gleichungen beinhaltet hat, wurde so angepasst, dass unter Verwendung einer geeigneten Lösungsstrategie das Gleichungssystem bei physikalisch relevanten Parametern gelöst werden konnte.

Ein weiteres Beispiel für die wegweisende Anwendung numerischer Methoden, insbesondere im Bereich der finiten Elemente, finden sich in unserem Produkt GETMe, der Geometric Element Transformation Method.

GETMe sticht als konsistentestes im Vergleich mit zwei weiteren Netzglättungsverfahren hervor. Aus D. S. H. Lo, Finite Element Mesh Generation, S. 350.

Im Fokus: GETMe - Geometric element transformation

Qualitativ hochwertige Netze spielen bei vielen Anwendungen, die auf digitaler Modellierung und Simulation basieren, eine Schlüsselrolle. Die Finite-Elemente-Methode ist ein Paradebeispiel für einen solchen Ansatz, und es ist bekannt, dass hochwertige Netze die Berechnungseffizienz und Lösungsgenauigkeit dieser Methode erheblich verbessern können. Daher wurde viel Arbeit in Methoden zur Verbesserung der Netzqualität investiert. Diese reichen von einfachen geometrischen Ansätzen wie der Laplace-Glättung, die eine hohe Recheneffizienz, aber möglicherweise eine geringe Netzqualität zur Folge haben, bis hin zu globalen optimierungsbasierten Methoden, die zu einer ausgezeichneten Netzqualität auf Kosten einer erhöhten Rechen- und Implementierungskomplexität führen.

Die Methode der geometrischen Elementtransformation (GETMe) schließt die Lücke zwischen diesen beiden Ansätzen.

Sie basiert auf geometrischen Netzelementtransformationen, bei denen polygonale und polyedrische Elemente iterativ in ihre regulären Gegenstücke oder in Elemente mit einer vorgegebenen Form transformiert werden. GETMe kombiniert eine der Laplace-Glättung ähnliche Berechnungseffizienz mit einer Effektivität, die an globale Optimierungsmethoden heranreicht.



Glättung des Europa-Netzes mit Zoom auf Norwegen. Die Netzelemente sind bezüglich ihrer mittleren Qualitätszahl eingefärbt.

GETme als wegweisendes Verfahren ist mittlerweile im Bereich der Netzglättung nicht mehr wegzudenken und findet in der einschlägigen Literatur immer größere Beachtung:

„A breakthrough was made when Vartziotis et al. (2008) proposed the GETMe method, which is purely a geometric process to move the nodes of a triangle so as to improve its quality. (…)

GETMe is the most interesting node-smoothing scheme as it is purely geometric in nature in transforming elements into regular forms without a direct link to shape quality measure. It is robust in removing inverted and poorly shaped elements rapidly and is consistent in diverse applications to produce quality meshes.“
Daniel S.H. Lo (Finite Element Mesh Generation)

Eine Open-Source Implementierung von GETMe ist auf Github verfügbar: https://github.com/twt-gmbh/getme

Eine ausführliche Beschreibung der mathematischen Theorie sowie numerische Studien zu GETMe finden sich im Buch

VARTZIOTIS, Dimitris; WIPPER, Joachim. The GETMe mesh smoothing framework: A geometric way to quality finite element meshes. CRC Press, 2018,

und den dazugehörigen Publikationen, wie beispielsweise

  • VARTZIOTIS, Dimitris, et al. Mesh smoothing using the geometric element transformation method. Computer Methods in Applied Mechanics and Engineering, 2008, 197. Jg., Nr. 45-48, S. 3760-3767,

  • VARTZIOTIS, Dimitris; WIPPER, Joachim; SCHWALD, Bernd. The geometric element transformation method for tetrahedral mesh smoothing. Computer Methods in Applied Mechanics and Engineering, 2009, 199. Jg., Nr. 1-4, S. 169-182,

  • VARTZIOTIS, Dimitris; WIPPER, Joachim. The geometric element transformation method for mixed mesh smoothing. Engineering with Computers, 2009, 25. Jg., Nr. 3, S. 287-301,

  • VARTZIOTIS, Dimitris; HIMPEL, Benjamin. Efficient and global optimization-based smoothing methods for mixed-volume meshes. In: Proceedings of the 22nd International Meshing Roundtable. Springer, Cham, 2014. S. 293-311,

  • VARTZIOTIS, Dimitris; BOHNET, Doris; HIMPEL, Benjamin. GETOpt mesh smoothing: Putting GETMe in the framework of global optimization-based schemes. Finite Elements in Analysis and Design, 2018, 147. Jg., S. 10-20.

Data Science

Auch das brandaktuelle Thema Data Science ist bei uns vertreten. Mit unserem TWT-Produkt ZAMRIS bieten wir eine Qualitätssicherungsframework, welches neben einer intuitiven Bedienoberfläche und einem professionellen Qualitätsregelmanagement Machine-Learning-Algorithmen zur Qualitätssicherung bietet. Dabei wird eine intelligenten Zeitreihenanalyse beliebiger Datensätze mittels Machine Learning und Pattern Recognition durchgeführt. ZAMRIS lässt sich sowohl als eigenständige Anwendung nutzen als auch in bestehende Simulationsprozesse einbinden und ermöglicht so eine effiziente und qualitätsgesicherte Entwicklung auch bei einer steigen Anzahl an zu untersuchenden Varianten.

Der Einsatz von Data Science ist auch in unseren Forschungsprojekten relevant. So wird beispielsweise in OPsTIMAL (www.opstimal.de) ganzheitlich der Flugverkehr aus Sicht des Luftfahrtunternehmens optimiert. Aber auch in anderen Projekten setzen wir moderne Tools wie Bilderkennung mit Convolutional Neural Networks, selbstlernende neuronale Netze oder Zustandsschätzung mit Kalman-Filter ein.

Das Ziel des KARLI-Projekts ist die Entwicklung einer adaptiven, responsiven und levelkonformen Interaktion im Fahrzeug der Zukunft. Dafür werden in KARLI kundenrelevante KI-Funktionen entwickelt, die für unterschiedliche Stufen auf dem Weg zum automatisierten Fahrzeug (Automationslevel) Fahrerzustände erfassen und Interaktionen gestalten.

Diese KI-Funktionen werden in KARLI aus empirischen und synthetisch erzeugten Daten entwickelt. Die Daten werden in KARLI so erhoben und verwendet, dass die Projektergebnisse skalierbar auf zukünftig verfügbare Big Data aus Serienfahrzeugen sind.

Verwendung von künstlicher Intelligenz für die Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion im Projekt KARLI (https://karli-projekt.de/)
Geometrische Transformation von Polygonen, welche einen Zusammenhang zu Überlagerungszuständen höherer Energie in einem zirkulären System von Quantentöpfen hat. (Link: https://arxiv.org/pdf/1712.07963.pdf )

Grenzen sprengen

„Die Mathematik vergleicht die verschiedensten Phänomene und entdeckt die geheimen Analogien, die sie verbinden“. – Joseph Fourier, französischer Mathematiker und Physiker

Frei nach diesem Zitat versuchen auch wir ständig neue Verbindungen zwischen Phänomenen oder Modellen zu finden, die augenscheinlich keinen Zusammenhang haben. Hätten Sie, zum Beispiel, gedacht, dass es eine direkte Analogie zwischen der Transformation von Dreiecksnetzen in einem CAD-Modell und der Platzierung von sogenannten Quantentöpfen im Umfeld des Quantencomputings gibt? Diese und weitere Analogien untersuchen wir, um Erkenntnisse aus einem Bereich auf einen anderen zu übertragen und mehr Verständnis für die dem Problem inhärente Struktur zu erhalten. Wenn Sie sich für dieses Thema interessieren, lesen Sie gerne die folgende Publikation:

VARTZIOTIS, Dimitris; HIMPEL, Benjamin; PFEIL, Markus. Creation of higher-energy superposition quantum states motivated by geometric transformations. arXiv preprint arXiv:1712.07963, 2017, https://arxiv.org/abs/1712.07963.

Wir schlagen einen Weg zur Erzeugung von Überlagerungszuständen höherer Energie in einem zirkulären System von Quantentöpfen vor. Dies ist inspiriert durch eine Verbindung zu Konvergenzergebnissen für geometrische Transformationen von Polygonen mit zirkulanten hermiteschen Matrizen.

Kontakt

Haben wir Ihr Interesse geweckt? Für Forschungskooperationen oder Industrieprojekte im Bereich Mathematik kontaktieren Sie uns gerne unter mathematics@twt-gmbh.de.
Sind Sie mathematisch interessiert und denken über eine Promotion oder einen PostDoc nach? Dann werfen Sie einen Blick auf https://twt-gmbh.de/karriere/stellenangebote-direkteinstieg/502-researcher-post-doc-mathematik.html

de_DEDE